Green Party reveals full list of runners for London Mayoral and Assembly spots

14 January 2019

London’s third party has revealed the full list of nominees [1] hoping to stand in the 2020 London Mayoral and Assembly elections.

Today (Monday 14 January) voting opens for Green Party members to choose the candidates who will stand in the 2020 election.

Jonathan Bartley, co-leader of the party, said the London Green Party had put forward a list of nominees who “reflect our great diverse city”.  

Half of the nominees hoping to stand for mayor are BAME. Of the nominees hoping to be chosen for the 11 spotson the Green Party’s London Assembly List, more than one third are BAME. The party also has one deafblind candidate, and six candidates who are 30-years-old or under.

The Green Party came third in the 2016 London Assembly and Mayoral elections, when Sian Berry also came third for the party in the Mayoral race [2].

Jonathan Bartley, co-leader of the Green Party, said:

“The London Green Party has put forward a list of candidates who reflect our great diverse city. I’m really proud to see so many Greens stepping up to give communities a voice they can trust. We have already seen that having greens in City Hall - as well as in council chambers up and down the country - makes a real difference. In the last London elections the Green Party established itself as the capital’s third party – I’m excited to see us take the campaign to the next level.”



Nominees to stand as London Mayor:

Peter Underwood

Shahrar Ali

Sian Berry

Zack Polanski

Nominees to stand on the London Assembly List:

Andrea Carey Fuller

Azzees Minott

Benali Hamdache

Ben Fletcher

Caroline Russell

Florence Pollock

Gulnar Hasnain

Hannah Graham

James Braun

Jarelle Francis

Kirsten De Keyser

Matthew Crowley

Peter Underwood

Ronald Stewart

Rosamund Adoo-Kissi-Debrah

Rosemary Warrington

Scott Ainslie

Shahrar Ali

Shaka Lish

Sian Berry

Tom Pashby

Zack Polanski


Back to main news page